Brocade

Photography by Armelle Touzeau


Broken brocade;

Where do I put this sequin when the sequence

Falls like notes from the cellar door?

On my knees searching on the dirty waxed floor

Hands graze gypsy mambo scuff-marks

And dirty martini olive-swords.

Candles glow in distant red bulbs,

My search waxes dim.

How does poetry save the world like God?

With no contradiction, no antithesis,

Heart of the lotus,

The God-Art-Man anagrammed Grand Atom.

Passive, patient, of humble sufferance,

Loving the one to whom it speaks

Like silence’s music.

Will not step outside itself

To know rhetoric and refutations,

In it one is valued and valuable:

“You are the one solid the spaces lean on, envious.

You are the baby in the barn.”

Plath says and solid the spaces become soul.

Not beckoned to the table of meats

Dainties and fattened talk,

But at the desk reading and writing brethren far off

Rehearsing the chords of heaven,

Each piano key a different age,

Then something like nature resounds

When the spirit is whole and we act aloud.

How the pines are moved to song!

The only refreshment

Light bouncing off the sap-drops

Shaken from the dancing wood,

The children of God.

 

© 2014, Amaya Engleking

14 comments

  1. earthmamaflowerchild · June 6, 2016

    Stunning. Your language is vibrant and delicious.

  2. PursuePeaceBlog · June 7, 2016

    Love it. Love it. Love it. Ahh!!!! I agree with Earth Mama… your language is INCREDIBLE. I just want to EAT it 🙂 🙂 🙂 Thank you thank you!

  3. Conflict Breed · June 8, 2016

    This is exceptional

  4. oldepunk · 18 Days Ago

    this is so beautiful Amaya. Command of language and imagery on full display here. Loved it!

    • Gospel Isosceles · 18 Days Ago

      Thank you greatly. This is my favorite poem I’ve ever written and the little jewel that epitomizes my spiritual walk, so I feel a special kinship with those who relate to this poem. 🙏🏽

      • oldepunk · 18 Days Ago

        Thanks for sharing your experience 🙏💕

  5. Nickel Boy Graphics · 16 Days Ago

    I love most anything with an anagram, and this one was particularly nice!

    • Gospel Isosceles · 15 Days Ago

      Because you said that, be on the lookout for one of my favorite New Yorker cartoons that I’ll post soon. (I’ll link to you too;)

  6. Soul Gifts · 6 Days Ago

    Thank you so much for the follow of my blog. I appreciate it and wish you many grand notes through your journey

  7. avalokitapoetics · 11 Hours Ago

    Reblogged this on the weather of samsara.

Leave a Reply

