Parasitic

Photography by Edward Burtynsky

I scratch the mosquito bites on my skin and the mountaintops wear away revealing the beginning and end of the bronze-age. Rusty nails puncture deeper the surface as leeches and butterflies emerge, not gasping but following, drilling the veins of time. Some will suffer, all will die and change, rapid like flesh. Copper valued until gold comes. Then? There will be more tap, tapping for more dripping spirit, metallic blood. The poison of the soul haunts me until I can free a geothermal laugh.

©2017, Amaya Engleking

28 comments

  1. This was quite stunning.

  2. Maria Gianna Iannucci · April 29

    The imagery is vivid. I love the way you combine the evolution of life, geology, and the human use of those natural resources to do harm.

    • Gospel Isosceles · April 29

      Thanks, Maria. I’m not in love with this piece, believing it to be sloppy. But then again, so is our (humans) extraction of whatever it is we want.

      • Maria Gianna Iannucci · April 29

        I thought that it was purposeful and added impact. Ah…poetry is always a relationship between minds!

      • Nickel Boy Graphics · April 29

        Our sloppy human extractions of whatever it is we want…this makes me think of the great environmental costs and human costs when we fixate on getting what we want at any cost…

      • Nickel Boy Graphics · April 29

        That matches what looks to me like an open sore in the photograph. Stunning.

  3. The Existential Baker · April 29

    TBT, you sometimes make me wish I believed….. amazing talent, never stop expressing

  4. Chagall · May 3

    So much life at scales we cannot fathom. Wonderfully original. —CC

  5. Incredible writing

  6. erbiage · June 1

    You’ve scratched the surface of something here.

    • Gospel Isosceles · June 1

      I believe every action has a consequence, sometimes one with a far greater magnitude than we ever could have imagined.

  7. Grace · June 1

    I love the images drawn out from the veins of times and metallic blood ~ I have a deep respect for nature’s history and shudder to think of us mining and utilizing them for our selfish greed ~

  8. I feel the skin of mother earth… maybe pockmarked but yet beautiful… and I love the geothermal laughter

  9. Beverly Crawford · June 1

    Earth mother has a way of reclaiming her own … as in the case of the temples of Angkor Wat. And then there’s geothermal laughter … ever present, ever waiting. Evocative words!

  10. nosaintaugustine · June 1

    I really enjoyed this! I sort of got to the end (after two reads) and felt like it was luscious and deliciously worded, despite the fact that it involved metaphorical leeches!

  11. sanaarizvi · June 1

    The poison of the soul haunts me until I can free a geothermal laugh… this is absolutely haunting!

  12. thotpurge · June 1

    till gold comes, then? aah the good questions..so nicely done!

  13. mother wintermoon · June 1

    Amazing work! Really struck a chord and vein here! Geothermal laughter…oh yes.

  14. sarahrussellpoetry · June 1

    “…dripping spirit, metallic blood…”. Wow!

  15. scotthastiepoet · June 2

    So sorry, unexpected visitors last night have made me rather late in responding to your piece. But really enjoyed this – a telling blend of both spiritual and natural elements, rendered so vividly…

  16. Ω · June 2

    This is incredible!!! Especially the opening.
    I love paragraph-poetry.

  17. Geothermal laugh….that’s quite amazing and impact full. …interesting writing!

Leave a Reply

