Omnipresent

LimZhiWei-Beautifull-Illustrations-using-Real-Flowers-17

Art: Lin Wei Zhi


Omnipresent

The atonal jewel in the broken heart

Of the wilted lotus and I guess I’m saying

That I can only guess given this heritage of rebellion

I am given the authority to suppose

To see the kingdom of right supposition erect

But I cringe at my own cadenza

What I defended yesterday I condemn today and…

Unable to complete one thought

Everything races in these end times

The stars fall fast

Yet I still suffer patience:

Caffeinated virtue

I’ll remember the times like jazz

Hopping around the fingerboard

From one red-bricked bar to another

Writing the song of the horn

If only to exercise my pen

Ready it for a battle that never comes

Because I’m forever in it

And peace would be death

And death would be the beginning of a new tune

I cannot hear

When stars fall slower than ink dries.

©Amaya Engleking, 2012

16 comments

  1. Pingback: Omnipresent — Gospel Isosceles – wolf4915
  2. turhon · July 19, 2016

    beautiful

  3. domainofshane23 · July 19, 2016

    Very nice use of words

  4. domainofshane23 · July 19, 2016

    Caffeinated virtue lol awesome

    • Gospel Isosceles · July 19, 2016

      Thanks, Shane. Definitely feels like what we’re all after sometimes. Love that fast track.

  5. itsmayurremember · July 19, 2016

    Wow. I needed to reread it twice as I am not good at poetry. But I loved it

    • Gospel Isosceles · July 20, 2016

      Poetry is just more freeing than other forms which tend to be tightly linear, allowing little room for breathing and the dance between the author and the reader. I really appreciate your being here. God bless you.

  6. LuAnne Holder · July 20, 2016

    I was surprised to see that you wrote this 4 years ago – the words seem so true for today. The conflicts now are so confusing, “What I defended yesterday I condemn today” yet these battles seem so beyond my scope that I am never in them. Beautifully written and touches that dark part of my heart looking for a ray of light. Glad you chose to post this when you did. And nice to meet you!

    • Gospel Isosceles · July 20, 2016

      Thank you, Luanne. I recognize you as a fellow reader of Peter Notehelfer’s beautiful words. Since the baby was born two months ago I haven’t written much but try to still remain in the spirit of the times, though sometimes, perhaps often, I am noticeably aloof. I appreciate you coming by:)

      • LuAnne Holder · July 21

        Congratulations! Having a new little one (your second?) is such a blessing. Mine are all grown and I tried to write when they were little but had a hard time with concentration. But cherish those moments, they will be a blessing to you for the rest of your life – and hers.

  7. Iris Orpi · July 20, 2016

    This is glorious, in that it’s not only lyrical and gives glimpses into your character and what you treasure and find beautiful, but in that many of the lines each individually triggers a different thread of thoughts, each potentially a poem. Care if I borrowed the phrase “heritage of rebellion” some time?

    • Gospel Isosceles · July 21

      Oh Iris, thank you for your insight. And if the phrase resonates with you deeply, then please, tell the truth.

  8. Beautiful…..are you part existential?? truly, very deep and personal

  9. Nikki Acquah · July 26

    What I defended yesterday I condemn today and…

    Unable to complete one thought

    Everything races in these end times

    LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. In fact, I loved many more lines than that, Wow !

    • Gospel Isosceles · July 26

      Thank you, this is one of my favorite poems as it is quintessential of the turbulent years where I wanted just so badly to find stillness. Did you find people to read your work? If you still need anyone, keep me in mind. You can also contact me at aecranston217 at yahoo.com

  10. Nikki Acquah · July 27

    So good! I even gave it a share on my twitter. Such strong images! 🙂 I did indeed, thank you! But the more the merrier! Thank you for the email! I’ll send along some chapters if that’s okay. Would be so interested in what you think about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

