Mountains in Spring

Here are some pictures of mountains on recent outings not far from home. Writing this, we are sitting under a foot of fresh wet snow, so you never know when (or with what) the Colorado skies will bestow heavenly gifts upon us. 

Looking northwest to Mt. Maestas


Tire swing we discovered in San Isabel Forest, much to the delight of our two year old.


Looking south to a blanketed West Spanish Peak and one of the prominent veins surrounding it.


Looking northeast from the Great Sand Dunes Preserve and Medano Creek to the Sangre de Cristos

©2017, Amaya Engleking

7 comments

  1. saynotoclowns · 24 Days Ago

    You live in Colorado?! We lived in Greeley for 10 years, from ’96-2005 and I go there every two years to visit. We have property in Westcliffe!!
    Great photos!

    • Gospel Isosceles · 24 Days Ago

      We’re not too far from beautiful Westcliffe. I’d like to explore more those eastern Sangres. Have you ever visited Bishop’s Castle?

  2. aumque · 24 Days Ago

    I haven’t seen any snow here in Boulder county for more than a month, except, of course, when I look at the mountains)

    • Gospel Isosceles · 24 Days Ago

      I went to school in Boulder and remember the warm and violent chinook winds that came off the Front Range. Hiking Indian Peaks in one of those storms was exhilarating and terrifying. Like meeting God or something.

      • aumque · 24 Days Ago

        I guess I was unlucky about the weather) Whenever I hiked there, it was calm.

        • Gospel Isosceles · 24 Days Ago

          I was tormented during those years so maybe it was Great Nature mirroring my tempestuous self, attempting to wake me up. Beautiful place though. I frequented Isabel glacier often. As for Boulder, I only miss the creek trail where I rollerbladed in the night, freaky, but I was searching for thrills back then. You could say I lived for them. Dumb youth.

          • aumque · 24 Days Ago

            I think I should hike there at least a couple of times this year – I can barely remember now what Isabelle Glacier is, only remember clearly a couple of hikes to Pawnee Pass… It was probably Lake Isabelle where I saw marmots all around me once in June, not a bit shy…

            The creek trail doesn’t change much. I have walked there a few times this month with our friends’ dog after visiting the library.

Leave a Reply

