Spring Runoff

In nature’s season of pomp and fanfares
Her swollen creeks and answered prayers
Rejoicing in all of love’s fed fountain
The warming ices cascade down the mountain
Singing over every pebble they pass
Listen, can you hear their gushing laughs?
The heart of the patient icicle
Flowing forth its truth now musical
Running its course, a cursive font,
“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.”
Its shining face a bright chrome thread
The spirit upon the wet pine forest-bed
Freed from frozen winter’s silent Quiver
Come and drink from the loquacious river!
The dancing of the waters with the forest-glades
Streams through verdant valleys as silver braids
Lifting the indigo mountainsides above:
Great joy have they which live the law of love.

©2017, Amaya Engleking
(Adapted from last year’s Runoff and Psalm Meditation)

Image Credit: “Blue Cool Creek” Ellen Dittebrandt

At dVerse today we raft the mighty river, or canoe down a gentle stream, whichever floats your boat.

38 comments

  1. I love the way you took the language of the river and make into an ode to spring… a reading that just make me happy…. wonderful

  2. whimsygizmo · March 21

    I love the flow of rhyme in this, much like a river.
    Thanks for your kind comment on my blog. It wasn’t my river poem, but I do appreciate the visit and the comment. 🙂

  3. paul scribbles · March 21

    This poem cascades it’s way down the page and into the reader’s consciousness as it melts from ice to water on the page and in the heart. Stunning.

    • Gospel Isosceles · March 21

      Yours is a gracious perception and I thank you deeply. They say drummers are more intelligent than the rest of us. Now, bartender, how about a drink?

      • paul scribbles · March 22

        They do, do they 😉 Hair of the Dog time here in Scotland so a gentle wee breakfast dram is in order 😉 A light and frisky 5 year old Bruichladdich coming right up. Slainte.

  4. den169 · March 21

    Reblogged this on Merging Traffic and commented:
    A wonderful poem from a wonderfully creative poet. Enjoy!

  5. den169 · March 21

    So lovely. I reblogged it.

  6. frankhubeny · March 21

    Very nice sounding poem in praise of the law of love.

  7. Glenn Buttkus · March 21

    You gave us the “rule of love”, floated it through a river’s rapids, melting ice in stony hearts, weaving a welcome wreath for Spring, rhyming as you go.

    • Gospel Isosceles · March 23

      It’s so dynamic, yet unchanging. Thanks for your wonderful comment, Glenn.

  8. Singledust · March 21

    such joy reflected here! like all hearts singing the same song. welcoming something so beautiful

  9. sanaarizvi · March 21

    The dancing of the waters with the forest-glades
    Streams through verdant valleys as silver braids
    Lifting the indigo mountainsides above:
    Great joy have they which live the law of love.

    This is soo beautifully phrased.. sigh.. ❤️

  10. Grace · March 21

    Love the joyful tone ~ This is my favorite part: Come and drink from the loquacious river!

  11. Sherry Marr · March 21

    I especially love that closing line.

  12. Rosemary Nissen-Wade · March 22

    Lovely rhymes, lovely details, and very well chosen picture too.

  13. kim881 · March 22

    I love your ‘loquacious river’ and the way you have captured its sounds in ‘nature’s season of pomp and fanfares’. You’ve used rhyme to create a lyrical poem, fluid and sparkling with water. My favourite lines:
    ‘The heart of the patient icicle
    Flowing forth its truth now musical
    Running its course, a cursive font’,

    • Gospel Isosceles · March 23

      I’m glad you saw the poem as sparkling. How beautiful is the light! Thank you, Kim.

  14. Jane Dougherty · March 22

    You gave me the shivers with this evocation of the ice-cold spring river.

  15. maria · March 22

    Great rhythm and rhyme!! Every detail fits perfectly to this wonderful piece!

  16. sarahsouthwest · March 22

    I just sat here and read this out loud. It sounds so great, with that lovely rhythm. I love the river’s course as a cursive font – great image.

    • Gospel Isosceles · March 23

      Thanks Sarah! I only wish I could have figured out how to use the cursive font for “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.” as it is on my word processor. Oh well, I’m glad you still saw the image 〰

      • sarahsouthwest · March 23

        It’s one thing I find frustrating about wordpress – the formatting doesn’t transfer. I know some people obviously use publisher or something and then put up an image of the poem. Anyhow, I could see it in my mind’s eye, which is what’s important.

  17. Aakriti Kuntal · March 22

    Beautiful

  18. Sreeja Harikrishnan · March 22

    A wonderful feeling…fresh and lively!

  19. kaykuala h · March 23

    The warming ices cascade down the mountain
    Singing over every pebble they pass
    Listen, can you hear their gushing laughs?

    They all seem to be singing in unison! Love the ‘sounds of the 3 singing lines’

    Hank

  20. racheltejas · March 28

    Wow. I am so glad I found this. Stunning. I mean, truly stunning. It should be sung.

    • Gospel Isosceles · April 27

      Um, after reading your “private diary” that is your beautiful blog, (yes, every post, over the last three days) I am unworthy to receive praise from you. It is my dream to one day write honest real-life prose, such as that which seemingly pours in a graceful music from your dancer’s hands, despite how ungraceful and complex the content. I will comment further on your site, but just want to say here that I am both humbled and honored to have met you intimately, on the deeper-than-cellular soul level. It is a precious gift to me from God to know that you exist here in this crazy world with me.

Leave a Reply

