Refugee Stars

abstract,loneliness-a660a21b58344bf58aaa50ce23cf5100_h

Photo: Rachmad Sofyan

To Marguerite while alone tonight,

Not even the wind stirs to brush or slap my skin

And I must remove my boots to feel the cold earth,

Prodigal with its minerals in its youth and

Tropical only by nostalgia,

Reminiscing that only quickens the hardening of its heart.

We live slow but die racing on this island.

Only I,

And a picture of your name.

The sole light speck in the grand obscure –

“Who are you?”

I follow after you as my course of nature

And in the beckoning momentum I remember

The infinite times our souls reach for one another

Mmm. The foremost rays, their sweet touching once…

And forever how could I feel alone?

The institution of man, its heavy mass

Overlying these bones and threatening this breath

Allowing only for our memory to leak out and spill

Among the galaxies, as refugee stars

The seemingly random pattern, a vignette of beauty that appears when words align justly:

Elements following their ordained sentences.

That the mathematics of poetry and theology forms an all new design,

Unseen when daily medicine practice brews its sorcerous clouds

And music unheard when the devil utters its lies,

Wherein lines-letters-love only matter and loneliness dies.

 

© 2012, Amaya Engleking

15 comments

  1. rothpoetry · November 21

    Love your descriptive poetry!

    • Gospel Isosceles · November 22

      Thank you, Dwight. And from the looks, no, not looks, the ESSENCE of your site it seems you had made a fine teacher. I’d also like to get more into painting, but I’m afraid with a toddler and a baby now all of my patience is spent! (Not to mention time!)

  2. Maria Gianna Iannucci · November 21

    Love the last line and the imagery!

  3. weapon x · November 23

    “we live slow but die racing on this island”
    your writing is really amazing and this entire work was a magnificent read x

    • Gospel Isosceles · December 2

      Thank you. I am enjoying reading all of your old prose poems and look forward to more.

  4. dustinsteps · December 22

    What an excitingly fresh and unexpected poem this was! I wasn’t ever sure what it’s direct subject matter was, or where it may go next, but it was expertly constructed, and each line in itself was beautiful and thought-provoking. Awesome stuff!

    • Gospel Isosceles · December 26

      I wrote it in line with Matthew Arnold’s poem ‘To Marguerite’ but really, (as with nearly all of my writing of that era) it’s about searching for God and in the lonely search, realizing by the light of God, that I am being pursued. Hard. Think the light of the stars that takes light years to reach our eyes. “Our sweet touching once/And forever.” I thank you sincerely for reading my poetry, Dustin.

  5. I read this over and over… such a rich poem… i find new details to love in each read. I had to say I’m mesmerized by the thought of removing your boots to feel the cold.

  6. Beverly Crawford · March 23

    Such depth of philosophy, evoking a lot of midnight thoughts! Thank you

  7. Seems like you and I, have a lot in common with poetic imagery and descriptive words.

    Such a philosophical depth in humanity and our consciousness. Love this truly. 🙂

  8. Grace · March 23

    Your brush strokes are deep and gives me pause ~ Love the title and the infinite search for that sole light to bring an end to our loneliness ~

  9. sanaarizvi · 30 Days Ago

    You had me at the opening lines.. such a wonderfully alluring write ❤️

  10. paul scribbles · 30 Days Ago

    There is real depth in your writing. A transcendent quality at times.

    I am curious. What could it be, this daily medicine practice brewing sorcerous clouds? I have an image of pills lined up for swallowing but I could be on another page altogether. Of course you may decline to respond and I respect that.

    Thank You again for your beautiful writing.

  11. frankhubeny · 30 Days Ago

    Nice last line: “Wherein lines-letters-love only matter and loneliness dies.” There is no loneliness with love.

Leave a Reply

