Climate Change

I want to awake at dawn

And with the finality of the seventh day, say:

“It’s done.”

(Or better yet) have no memory of that

Long night.

I want the culprits of sex-traffic to awake

Beating their own breasts

Compassion like filial love pours forth like

Virgin blood.

I want to thaw this ice-capped heart and let it be

A warm spring, consoling others so

I’m no longer forgotten like a corpse

One who invaded a space, nourished nothing

And then was gone.

But be remembered with a sincere smile.

I want to be washed in the vitality of my youth, to have it return in torrents, global glaciers melting and baptizing so when I awake I’ll hand-sew my daughters’ dresses, fine embroidered needlework and boldly lead them into the soaked earth sloppy splashes muddy puddles, teach them with a half-smile all the rules, and with the other half how to break them.

I want to live according to the seasons: Celebration, Retreat, Deep Winter, Thaw, Easter, Runoff, Psalms,

Celebration. And be freed of them.

Let’s toast in the Deep and meditate in the summery Psalms, make babies in Death and Resurrection and bring forth life in the Fall.

I want to awake and spill my slippery dreams onto the ground like a painting

And then run downstairs to see my daughter’s masterpiece.

I want my liquid words to come from solid action,

I want my ice to melt.

In the dark frozen night no one, not even God, cares what I want.

I don’t care what I want; there I am not a co-creator.

But I ask for climate change.

I ask for mercy.

© 2016, Amaya Engleking

dVerse

25 comments

  1. Joel · October 27, 2016

    That’s beautiful.

    • Gospel Isosceles · October 27, 2016

      Thanks Joel, and I feel so free from writing it down, as if the gospel were serious, as if miracles occur everyday still;)

  2. The Existential Baker · October 27, 2016

    Strong words, Powerful finnish.

  3. Joel · October 27, 2016

    Like in Romans 8, creation groans for our and it’s redemption. It’s going to be lovely. I think the beauty is just under the surface, sometimes poking through and capturing our hearts 😉

    • Gospel Isosceles · October 27, 2016

      I love that. Like a woman’s labor. I think you and I both know what that’s (sounds) like!

      • Joel · October 27, 2016

        Yes that’s exactly right! And you’re right, I like that, it is a lot like labor. It’s messy, yet ordered, bloody, yet lovely, painful, yet hopeful. It’s living in the expectation of a beautiful new life springing into our world.

  4. inigo rey · October 27, 2016

    The poetry is superb. The experience is something many of us share. And the biblical verse cited is completely apt. Joel’s comment too.

    Inigo

    • Gospel Isosceles · November 11, 2016

      Thanks, Inigo, it was pure soul food to write this. Looking forward to more of your poetry.

  5. Keith Haney · November 14, 2016

    That was beautiful and very powerfully written.

  6. Malakhai Jones · November 19

    Your writing has a lot of beauty, compassion, and passion in it. The world is better for it.

  7. Victoria C. Slotto · May 11

    Amaya, this is so very breathtaking and grace-filled. ..one I will return to as though to prayer. Thank you.

  8. This is written with such passion, the lists within lists. It reads like a manifesto and prayer… love the intensity

  9. whimsygizmo · May 11

    Wow. What an astonishing list of wants. I feel so many of these, deeply.
    Especially:
    I want my liquid words to come from solid action,

    I want my ice to melt.

  10. jillys2016 · May 11

    Breath-taking!

  11. sanaarizvi · May 11

    I agree, this is absolutely awe-inspiring!❤️

  12. Waltermarks · May 11

    I like,”I want to awake and spill my slippery dreams onto the ground like a painting And then run downstairs to see my daughter’s masterpiece.” That’s so ethereal, to pour your dreams onto the ground like a painting, then pick them up to fulfill them

  13. frankhubeny · May 11

    Like Walter, I like this line about dreams: “spill my slippery dreams onto the ground like a painting” If I could do that maybe I would remember those dreams better.

  14. Outstanding poem, Amaya! I love, ‘I want my ice to melt’

  15. Ryan Stone · May 12

    A powerful poem, Amaya. Written with grace and flair.

  16. Sascha Darlington · May 12

    Wow! Just wonderful!

  17. This is just beautiful….some of the lines are so deep and lovely…!

Leave a Reply

