Celebration Song (Meditation on the Psalms: VII)

image

Painting by Julie Jilek

‘Twas your wrath, O Lord, your fiery rebuke

So I heard your voice and my net I forsook

When the dust settled, you spoke your verdict:

It is God that maketh your way perfect.

Thus the foundations of the world were discovered

Perfect the way, the law of the Lord

Which converts the soul, an unsung song,

God composes and the heavens play along.

By this word the heavens were made

“I am” he speaks and it is ordained

My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed

I sing and let your name be forever praised

I shall cry unto you and make my dedication:

Thou art my Father and the rock of my salvation.

I am home within your secret place

Under the shadow of the Almighty’s face

Though thousands fall all around

And I dare not count the failings of my hand,

But I shall not die, for I am in your pity

How good for brethren to dwell in unity!

Like precious ointment upon the head

Like on the mount the dew descended

Like the multitude of your thoughts unto me

In a dream I count the sands by the sea

But the night shines just as the day

And I am still with you when I awake.

Amen.

© 2013, Amaya Engleking

One comment

  1. Shattered in Him · December 3

    You really should make a book of your poems and reflections. 🙂

Leave a Reply

