Deep I (Meditation on the Psalms: II)

In the womb I talk with my hands

And every sign is another stanza

Of the poem, of our home

We all delight in as a dance

Meditating on it day and night

Communing with our hearts’ lamplight

Surrendered will, lying still

We become the heavenly right

For man has shamed oft before

The blessed counsel of the poor

Because the Lord is their reward

And place of refuge forevermore

In pleasant places fall the lines

Right in rhythm as God designs

A goodly heritage, a godly personage

Upon their faces the true word shines

If the poem I should forget

And unto me his voice silent

I cry the tune of the idol-ic moon

Becoming them that go in the pit

Whisper to me and let me weep

Your righteousness like the mountains steep

That I might climb in eternal time

Your judgments are a great deep

How for you my soul does thirst!

Yet by the flesh I have been cursed

O my God, the living God

Give the word and the sun shall burst

Longing we can no longer stand

I am plucked up by the holy hand

Loosed my foot, to plant my root

In the soil of the living land

For if changes hadn’t been my gift

And hadn’t known the God-world rift

I would have no fear, unable to hear

He to whom my heart I lift

My signature in God I emboss

A hand print in the tender moss

A tiny glint of life’s imprint:

Our Lord’s body upon the cross

Which should I drop and return to youth

A magical nightmare of ill reproof

The dead bridegroom, no empty tomb

And I lose love for the truth

All the young lilies will have withered

Pray may your beloved be delivered

Give us your gains from all past pains

For man’s soul left alone quivered…

©Amaya Engleking, 2013

6 comments

  1. brittstepblog · July 14

    Beautifully expressed.

  2. sarahbruso · July 18

    Loved this. Your imagery and rhyming were on point.

  3. askriverbed · July 19

    “O my God, the living God / Give the word and the sun shall burst / Longing we can no longer stand / I am plucked up by the holy hand / Loosed my foot, to plant my root / In the soil of the living land.” Flawless (and glorious!). thank you for sharing, Gospel!

    • Gospel Isosceles · October 14

      Thank you! I don’t know how I’ve missed this comment until now but I do appreciate your encouraging words.

  4. Pingback: Deep II (Meditation on the Psalms: II) | Gospel Isosceles

Leave a Reply

