Source/El Origen

Word to the people of the world
It’s in the water, as a loving Father
Or a bodhisattva comes to us
From the skies, formed of his designs,
By gravity of grace, here to remind
Unblind, and hydrate all that has dried
Into a reality we face:

That if I speak liberate,
I could find my fate, taken and raped,
Locked up in a pool of lead acetate.

To hell wit dat, I don’t drink polluted words
Or spit what I heard, nah, I drink from the earth
Man it’s about the Mani, not the money
The OM, not the O-M-G and see,
Not tryin to be funny but this water’s so free
And flowin that I’m down here knowin it’s been Daddy-O spinnin
This Manikhorlo from the beginning and—Er Ree EE-e—
Scratch that, Big D(J), this Whee-ee-eel has
None nor end but I’s just wond-er-in’ the nature of the
Period, cuz every song has one and
The peak of this mountain, is covered in truth,
That melts~

So I go along with him, to follow his rhythm
Of the air, of the prayer, of this wild hair,

Of this word.

©Amaya Engleking, 2011

 

La palabra para la gente del mundo

Está en el agua

Como amoroso Papa

O una bodhisattva

Viene a nosotros

Desde los cielos

Hecha de sus diseños

Con la gravedad de la gracia

Para recordar, develar, hidratar

Todo lo que se ha secado

Hasta ser la realidad que enfrentamos:

Si yo hablo de “liberar”

Podria encontrar mi vida

Robada, violada, y encerrada

Con las llaves ya en el fondo del abismo.

Al diablo con eso

Yo no tomo palabras polucionadas

Ni escupo lo que yo he oido

No, yo las tomo del manantial

Sabe a Dios, no a dineros

A “OM” no “O-M-G ¡que escalandosos!”

Y no estoy tratando jugar

Sino que el agua es libre y corriente

Y estoy en la tierra yendo humildemente

Porque Mi Viejo ha girado

Esta gran rueda rezada

La manikorla y la mandala

Desde la primera palabra

La rueda sin principio y sin fin

Pero todavía me maravillo

De la naturaleza del punto

Porque cada canto tiene solo uno

Y la punta cima de esta montaña

Está cubierta de la verdad

Que se derrite

Porque todos la tomemos

Asi que yo fluyo

Sigiendo su ritmo

Derramondo alabanzas, lágrimas

Y palabras

 

© 2012, Amaya Engleking

8 comments

  1. Awkward Babble · May 14, 2016

    Love it! Also love that you do an English / Spanish dual post. I used to be fluent in Spanish (Haven’t had opportunity to use it and practice in 3 years now sigh) and I love seeing the difference in the flow of the words between the 2 languages.

    • Gospel Isosceles · May 17, 2016

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, translating was a challenge to try to keep up the hip-hop style flow, but I actually think I like the Spanish version better now. This is one of my only poems I have memorized and really think the spoken version, in both languages, does the poem justice. How did you become fluent in Spanish?

      • Awkward Babble · May 18, 2016

        Well, I studied it for 2 years in High school, but really it was entering a work-force with a lot of Spanish Speakers (at the same time I was studying it) that got me to be bilingual. When a lot of my co-workers heard me trying to stutter out something in Spanish one day, I was not allowed to ever speak English after that hahaha 🙂

  2. McDaniel A. Gyamfi · May 17, 2016

    Beautiful and Soul touching

  3. Saturated In Seattle · May 22, 2016

    I felt the vibrations of each word I read, they resounded greatly in my soul, and my mind has been polluted with imagery that you so eloquently speak and bring to life with each post. I wonder if you have ever considered doing a video blog or thought to include a listening option to your posts? I can only imagine the passion and emotion your voice might bring to your posts. Although, on the flip side, the reader gets to inject their emotions into the words and that too, is a gift. Thinking outloud here! I am completely endeared to your writings. Without a doubt, they are a glimpse into your heart; a heart that is absolutely beautiful; stunning, really!

  4. Your poem is extremely beautiful and your translation is wonderful, almost honed to perfection. I loved it. Siiii, me encanta!

    • Gospel Isosceles · January 16

      I am grateful to you for reading it. Translation is an awesome endeavor as I can get lost (in a good way) in all the crevices and craters that are created when languages plus poetry collide. It is an art upon which I would love to improve. Thanks again and have fun with your translation projects!

      • Thank you for your kind wishes regarding my translation projects. I agree that translation is an awesome endeavor, I can easily get lost too. Actually an art upon which I would love to improve myself.

Leave a Reply

