Embracing Blessed Pregnancy

pregnantforest1-2

A flowering mother.  (Source unknown)

I am in bloom.  Full of blood, bubbling, full of life.  Face aglow, I am awed by the blood vessels flowing to the womb, thickened veins and umbilical pulse.  I can feel their swollen contours as they inflect upwards beneath the skin.  Bulbous breasts plump with sweet amber, dripping like blackstrap molasses.  Soon the ambrosia will pour forth as the new baby feeds, feeding the budding plants, tuberose and jasmine, clematis and columbine, blossoming blackberry brambles; this milky blancmange enriching the fertile soil of spring.  The efflorescence is all around; the flurry of blood cell activity flourishing in living to their full potential.  I am a Paganini Caprice with all of the embellishments and trills.  Baby plays with bladder as a child does with a balloon, squeezing and pouncing.  The balmy touch of my husband’s hands on my lumbar soothes the growing pains.  Warm mineral spring water placates the pressure and submerged, I am floating like slumbering baby in womb.  Resting in this nine-month umbra, cloistered from the world’s abrasive ways, I am imbued with an afflatus shine; mother and baby, together an emblem for Paraclete’s ripening fruit.

© 2016, Amaya Engleking

7 comments

  1. bearandhoneyblog · April 5, 2016

    I love the poetry in this. These words calm me the same as if I were in the middle of nature, and I know it’s because you took me there with your imagery. Thank you for this peace.

    • gospelisosceles · April 10, 2016

      Yes, it’s finally starting to feel like spring here, budding aspens and blood cells rejoicing that they get to nourish new life. Thank you so much for your comment.

  2. Saturated In Seattle · April 5, 2016

    Everything about this is beautiful! The imagery, the momma’s nurturing body, the baby’s dependency…it fits so perfectly with the backdrop of spring! Sigh…I miss those years.
    Praying for continued health for you and baby! May he/she continue to inspire you!

  3. misggrace · April 6, 2016

    you are good… i ❤ this

  4. Beautiful, Camouflaged Mess · April 20, 2016

    Absolutely beautiful imagery! Such a touching tribute to motherhood! I will keep you and Baby in prayers as you finish your pregnancy journey!

    • gospelisosceles · April 20, 2016

      Thank you for your kind words and prayers. Just about a month to go now:)

  5. I absolutely love this – your alliteration and use of poetic language really captures the feeling of devine femininity that comes with pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

