Isosceles


Are we as a country becoming more divided or more unified? When historical decisions are made and elections fall to one party or the other, there is an “in your face” celebration focused at those who lost. When was the last time there was an election for president that was separated by more than a few percentage points in the popular vote? When was the last time there was a unanimous Supreme Court decision on any major decision? It’s usually 5-4, or 6-3 at best. That tells me there are a lot of people who will be hurt, lost, disappointed, and even confused as to what the future holds for them and their beliefs. Where is the leader who has seen his/her cause win, and then truly demonstrated a humility that there are a lot of people who are not celebrating?

John Pickard, Lakewood

This letter was published in the July 5, 2015 edition of The Denver Post


When I subscribed to that newspaper, it was so easy to get caught up in the issues of the day and to think my opinion actually had pull over another’s.  It was so easy to get angry.  When Mr. Pickard wrote this humbling letter, it immediately stood out as prophetic, and I was reminded of that which I ought to focus my energy instead: Christ’s teachings.  Not left, not right, not forever down in a dark, deep cave.  (See About section.)  But above.

I cut out this letter and magnetically stuck it to the fridge, the beginning of my own magnetism upward to heavenly things, rising above the perpetual tug-of-war, the pull of gravity, the torrential seas.  Transcending these laws lets us walk on water.  Putting the needs of others before our own desires–prayer–is the way to get there. 

© 2016, Amaya Engleking

7 comments

  1. Saturated In Seattle · March 29, 2016

    I LOVE this…again, you make me think deeply on issues that I haven’t thought about for awhile!
    I think when Christ commanded us to “Go” and “Do”, he did not mean for us to do it through division or war, but through love and respect—even of opposing views! We have to believe that Christ really is sovereign (over all) and really does have a plan (Jer. 29:11), because if not, where the heck would our hope be?
    Here’s to “upward to heavenly things”
    Karyn

  2. Saturated In Seattle · March 29, 2016

    I do! I think it links from my page, but if not, you can find me: Karyn Koster Schneider!

  3. andreaclaire · April 2, 2016

    I know it may not seem too relevant to what you wrote about (which I enjoyed and agreed with bu the way) but I love the name of the post! I thought it was so clever, creative, and it drew me in to read it.

    • gospelisosceles · April 6, 2016

      Thanks, but I hope I didn’t mislead you! It is a common theme in my writing (hence the name of the blog) to see the world as a war of duality, a one-dimensional unceasing push-and-pull. All we have to do to rise above it is remember heaven, call to God in sincere humility and devotion, and we can rise above and be freed.

  4. PursuePeaceBlog · April 3, 2016

    I love your unique writing style. It is so fun to read. I honestly have never really thought about this. I often look at politics and my leanings to be for the purpose of honoring Christ. However… I think it often can get in the way of Christ because of the anger that it can create. Excellent post.

    • gospelisosceles · April 6, 2016

      I know, it’s so easy to get dragged into all the constant debating and arguing. Mr. Pickard’s letter reminded me that it can also be a civic duty to take no sides and to seriously and compassionately consider the needs of others. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

