Easter (Meditation on the Psalms: IV)

He Is Risen Carol Manasse

Art: ‘He Is Risen’ by Carol Manasse

God tries the heart and reins

God tries the heart and reigns!

God tries the pure, the righteous

Souls the bricks of his fortress

Who hates those who love violence

Saving us from the mouths of lions

Hearing our cry from the horns

Of the banished unicorns

As God, after these do we seek

That by the whims of our flesh we not speak

But behold the beauty of the Lord

Dwell within and enquire in his word

How do you make dancing from our mournings

And singing praises for our adornings?

How you make our salvation your business

Oh blessed be the other side of forgiveness!

Led by the one who reigns from on high

We are guided by his untainted eye

See Zion rejoice and Judah’s daughters sing

Because of the judgments of their king

They know from the rock that is higher than they

Where I am led so I may too pray

Unto God daily perform my vows

A life’s journey unto me he endows

Hear, hear, the voice of his praise

Holding our soul in life all our days

Come and hear, all who fear God’s soul

I declare it is God that has made me whole

As showers that water the earth

Redeeming my soul from deceit and curse,

Precious is my blood in his eyes

“Amen and amen” and I arise

Arise, O God, and plead your own cause

Remember their foolish reproaching jaws

I have been gnashed in the torrential sea

The spirit of princes which ceases to be

When you cause your judgment to be heard from the throne

So the earth stops in stillness and then you are known

As the sun that shines, only the meek remain

Days passed away in the wrathful rain

Our years are spent as a tale that is told

Applying ourselves to wisdom our hearts unfold

The light drips its candle wax

And we may glow the gospel acts

And all who see and hear these things

Shall not be afraid of evil tidings

Their hearts are fixed, trusting in the Lord

Trusting in him they shall know their reward:

Strength not in confidence of what man says

But in salvation’s supernatural ways

Which are answers of truth to mean reproaches

And sources of delight when darkness approaches

They behold transgressors and know grief,

Consider how they love, beholding your belief!

As a bird is escaped out of the fowler’s snare

Our soul is released into your care

Into the creation of heaven and earth,

The Lord with his people from henceforth

Who remembered us when we were very low

Fruiting of his enduring mercy’s sow

I know because of this life resurrected

The Lord will maintain the cause of the afflicted

And the right of the poor be lifted above

Where just hearts may act on brotherly love.

 

© 2013, Amaya Engleking

4 comments

  1. Saturated In Seattle · March 26, 2016

    I read this, this morning, but had to go back to it again tonight, because it caused such a stirring in my heart and mind! I LOVE this so much! Parts of it caused me smiled, other parts nearly brought me to tears, and all of it made me feel incredibly grateful for the gracious, sacrificial love of our Savior! Thank you!!!

    • gospelisosceles · March 29, 2016

      And I am grateful that these words caused so much reflection and an outpouring of love for Christ. But I cannot take all credit, and even debated posting any of these ‘Meditation on the Psalms’ series, since King David, the author of the psalms, gave me direct inspiration. I just rearranged many of his lines and re-worded them for rhyme and rhythm. Thank you, nonetheless, and I hope you and your family have a joyous Easter season.

  2. ladycee · March 27, 2016

    Hello fellow blogger. Thank you for sharing this powerful creative presentation – I particularly liked the 2 opening lines.
    Have a blessed Easter break.

  3. domainofshane23 · April 11, 2016

    Wow that’s beautiful. And the psalms themselves are just incredible to me the best parts of the whole Word

Leave a Reply

